D For Dennis’ Dilemma

There goes the insomnia. For the past week, sleep slips sordidly between my eyes and I just can’t put my head over a pillow and snore myself to dreamworld.

I have this dilemma that’s been fucking with my head since my parents told me about it. Even though I’m confident with what I actually want to do with my life, there’s still something that pulls on the strings, trying to push me into that temptation. I’m not even sure if this is a challenge for me to face before I turn 25. What a nice reminder that I’m finally crossing the path from young adulthood to Adulthood. That’s with a Capital A.

I’m not even sure if I should write about it here, given the fact that there might be some company spies working 24/7 to conduct thorough background check on you. You can never be sure nowadays. But I guess I’ll risk it here? It’s been a while since I’ve written anything in this site. And no excuse shapes itself inside this crazy head of mine. So I guess the real reason why I haven’t done any cursor-dancing is because I’m starting to feel like I don’t have the talent for writing anymore. Can you believe that?

And this pish-posh of nonsense that I’m blabbering about is starting to digress from what I badly need to share.

Okay.

Here it goes.

My father is retiring from his long-successful career of being a banker and he wants me to, as the most obvious of reasons, follow in his footsteps, which is less likely what he actually does want me to do, but more on to let me earn something a little more than what I’m actually getting from my current job—not that my current job compensates me any less than my taste; I’m actually satisfied with what I’m getting. So this is where the dilemma starts knocking in.

Just a few weeks from now, I have to take this entrance examination for THE national bank of the Philippines: the Central Bank of the Philippines. On those days, it’s also a very important/crucial and frustratingly difficult week in my current work place. So here’s my father forcing me to fly to Manila to just take the exam, while I’m weighing in the options on how to actually state to my boss that I have to leave for three days on the same week where they will have a national conference. I haven’t mentioned, I’m the one doing the data-analyzing and the preparation of presentations for the conference. Can you see the picture I’m getting at??? I feel like I can’t decide that fast.

Should I fly to Manila, take the exams, and risk my chances for quality presentation? Or should I just let Fate work its magic? Is this what they call that “quater-life crisis?” Gah!

I need to pee.

~ by bipolarthespian13 on July 21, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
